Wine, Spirits and Beer

ABOUT WINE AND WINE COOLERS

 

IMG_1549.JPGIS WINE GLUTEN-FREE?

Yes.  All wine made from grapes and other fruits is naturally Gluten-Free.

ARE WINE COOLERS GLUTEN-FREE?

Maybe… In the past, Wine Coolers were simply made with wine and fruit juice which was A-OK.  However, an increase in taxes on wine in the 1990’s caused producers to switch to malt instead.  Trouble.  (Malt contains Gluten)  To be safe, read the labels on every wine cooler before you consume it, or have a glass of red or white wine instead.

U

Wine Facts

In ancient Greece, the host drank the wine first to prove that the wine was not poisoned.

U

In 400 B.C. Hippocrates prescribed red wine for digestion and white wine for bladder problems.

U

When the Egyptian King Tut reigned (1300 BC) he and his upper class cronies drank wine, but the common people drank beer.

ABOUT DISTILLED ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES (SPIRITS)

ARE DISTILLED ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES GLUTEN-FREE? 

Distilled Alcoholic Beverages (Spirits) are Gluten-Free.  Distilled products do not contain any harmful gluten-peptides because the Gluten-Peptides are destroyed in the distillation process.  Note: If you read old information (even on the internet) you may read conflicting reports.  Don’t be alarmed.  Since the fall of 2000 the American Dietetic Association put distilled alcoholic beverages on the “safe list” even for people that have Celiac Disease.   Bottom Line:  Distilled alcohol is Gluten-Free.  (However, be careful what other ingredients are added to a mixed drink or to a recipe – be sure any additions to a Distilled beverage are Gluten-Free).

Now, just in case you aren’t quite sure what “Distilled Alcohol” or “Spirits” are, here’s the scoop:

Distilled alcohol goes by a lot of different names.  My dear friend, Jacques Pepin, sometimes calls it – “booze.”  In addition to being called booze, a distilled beverage is also called a spirit, hard liquor, or hard alcohol.  All these different names mean that it is an alcoholic beverage that is first fermented, then distilled. This process raises the alcohol content beyond the limits of fermentation.  Brandy, vodka, gin, rum, whiskey, tequila, etc., are all considered to be a “Spirit” or a “Distilled Alcohol” beverage. There are also spirits that are flavored and have sugar added to them, commonly called Cordials or Liqueurs, such as Grand Marnier, Frangelico, Chambord, Tuaca, etc.

GENTLEMAN JACK CUSTARD Can you find the secret recipe?

GENTLEMAN JACK CUSTARD
Can you find the secret recipe?

Many people enjoy adding spirits to drinks, desserts, marinades and many other foods…  Pssssst!  Quiet now, I’m going to tell you a secret. Don’t tell anyone… this is just between you and me…

I have a secret recipe – it’s called Gentleman Jack Custard.  People love it!  But this recipe is so secret I have it hidden!  However… I will give you a clue:  It is hidden inside another recipe!  See if you can discover my secret recipe when you find: World’s Best Apple Crisp.  Good luck!

BEER, ALE & LAGERS

WHAT ABOUT BEER, ALE AND LAGERS?  DO THEY CONTAIN GLUTEN??

Most Beers, Ales and Lagers do contain Gluten because beer is almost always made with barley and wheat.  But don’t panic!  Today, there are a number of Gluten-Free Beers on the market.  Usually, Gluten-Free Beers are made from sorghum, corn and rice. 

 Listed below are a few Gluten-Free Beers that are made in the United States.  They are available at Natural Food Stores and some grocery stores.  If you can’t find Gluten-Free Beer in your area, talk to your store manager and see if it can be brought in:

Hey, while we are on the subject of beer, did you know that you can make a fabulous, homemade loaf of Gluten-Free bread with a bottle of one of those beers?  Yep.  You can.  Just stir, bake and EAT!  Oh YES!  It’s my Scandalous Fabulous Gluten Free Bread.  

 One 12 oz. bottle of Gluten-Free beer causes the bread to rise and gives it a marvelous, yeasty flavor.  

“I love this bread!  I could eat this all day!” That’s what Don B. said when he tried this bread for the first time. (Don is not Gluten-Free, he’s a wheat eater and a bread lover.) Try it for yourself – it’s fun to make and Nirvana (bliss, delight) to eat!  

Scandalous Fablulous Gluten-Free Beer Bread

Scandalous Fablulous Gluten-Free Beer Bread

NOTE:  Scandalous Fabulous Gluten Free Bread only needs a 12 oz. of beer.  If you use an imported Gluten-Free Beer, sometimes they contain more than 12 oz.  You’ll have to figure out what to do with that extra beer.  (I’m sure you’ll think of something.)

Pin It on Pinterest